Hello!
I studied with Dr.Frederick Lenz, who was known by not only his students but many thousands who attended his public workshops, as Rama.  I met him at  a public workshop in Santa Monica, California in 1982. I cannot really explain to you in words what that first experience was like, nor can I get very close to describing to you in words about all the magic that followed that first encounter.

I felt like I had come home.  I fell into love with the light and energy of God.  An enlightened teacher is really an emptiness, a doorway, that reintroduces students to their home in light.  Rama was able to meditate with such power and grace that he could take students into the highest forms of meditation, known as Samadhi.  Again and again when I sat with him, I simply moved into silence, I merged with light.

This probably makes no sense to you, unless you have been graced with such an experience.  I fell in love with the teacher, because the light and love of God flooded me when I sat with him.  I studied with him from 1982 until 1988.  When he left San Diego, and did much of his teachings on the east coast, I continued my study long distance.  I had a strong connection with him that allowed me to continue the study across time and space.  While being in his physical presence was always wonderful, it was not essential after the inner connection was established.  During all my studentship with Rama I continued to love and live with my husband and my children, and I continued to teach in the public school system.  After Rama’s death I opened a meditation center in San Diego where I have taught for 14 years.

Although Rama died in 1998, the controversy surrounding the man and the teacher is still a discussion point, and the internet provides a forum for debate.  Rama was controversial for many reasons. Families didn’t understand the experience, and I believe they feared what they didn’t understand.  Husbands of students, or moms and dads of students, watched changes and some got very frightened.  They feared that they could lose their loved one to this teacher who they didn’t understand.  Students fall in love with the light.  That is simply what happens when you sit with an enlightened being and the clear light of eternity comes through them.

Even though Rama left the body in  1998 there still seems to be fear surrounding him.  If you google Rama, you will certainly find many sites and blogs that tell you the joy and wonder of studentship with Rama.  You will also find some very negative stories written by people who were disillusioned with Rama.

One thing I do know, each person on this planet has no choice but to experience the world through their own perceptual field.  Whatever experience I had with Rama had to go through my personal perceptions  which are based on my personal history. Everyone here experiences the world, including Rama, through their personal perception.  Therefore each person will report a unique experience.   I believe that karma, and personal dharma drive our lifetime.  We ‘get’ to learn through life lessons, and each of us has a very personal and unique set of lessons.

I am so grateful that I had the very good fortune to meet Rama and to study with him.  I met him while I was right in the middle of my life as a high school teacher, wife,  and mother.  Since his death I have taught a few thousand students over the last 14 years, and both experiences are gifts from eternity.

If you have mixed feelings about this teacher who some call enlightened and others call fake, you might want to read books he has written or listen to free MP3s and ‘hear’ his lectures.  The only truth you can ever know has to come through you, so rather than listen to me, or the rantings of disgruntled students or family members, why not read or listen to what he had to say.  He was Dr. Frederick Lenz.  He is still Rama!

About Lynne

I am a forever Student of Awakening and a teacher of Enlightened Mind. I am cofounder of Dharma Center. I practice meditation and mysticism. Writing is my passion, and I have authored two books, and in the wings of my miind there are several waiting.

Leave a Reply

